The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

Congratulations to the Connecticut State Finalists for the 2011 PAEMST (Secondary Science Category):

Ben Wrubel Bunnell High School
Stratford, CT
Tyler Hoxley East Hartford High School
East Hartford, CT

The White House Office of Science and Technology will announce winners during Summer 2012.

For a listing of all previous PAEMST winners in the science category, click here.

What Are the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching?

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Enacted by Congress in 1983, this program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year with the goal being to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. Recipients of this award are recognized for their contributions to teaching and learning and their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science

Anyone—principals, teachers, parents, students, or members of the general public—may nominate exceptional Math or Science teachers. Awards are presented to elementary teachers in even years and to secondary teachers in odd years. As such, nominations for 2012 PAEMST, for educators that teach in grades K-6, will be accepted beginning in Fall 2011.

For more information visit including how to:

Nominate an Outstanding Educator
Contact the State Coordinators for Connecticut